Bloggers beware ..

But not this one …

A very interesting state Superior Court ruling this week said, in effect, that bloggers who blog on their own are not necessarily journalists. That means they are NOT protected by the state’s reporters’ shield law. The ruling stemmed from a case involving New Jersey companies and a blogger in the state of Washington.

The significance is that those who blog for themselves can not claim the same privileges as bona-fide journalists when it comes to not revealing sources and libel.

The ruling would not cover a guy like me, who does blog for a news organization ..

About fsnowflack
Fred Snowflack was editorial page editor and a political columnist for the Daily Record of Morristown for almost 12 years. He has won numerous awards for editorial and column writing from the New Jersey Press Association and has written a blog on county and state politics for the last three years. He lives in Ledgewood in Morris County.

2 Responses to Bloggers beware ..

  1. Advice says:

    Fred, I think you are incorrect. When you are blogging, you are not shielded, you are open to libel, etc. When you write an article for the DR, you are shielded

  2. Well, I try not to libel people, so I think it’s a moot point.

    My reading of the ruling is that I am shielded, because I am blogging on a newspaper site and in my capacity as a reporter/editor for that newspaper ..

    But I guess I’ll find out of someone sues me for libel ..

Leave a Reply

